MLB 09: The Show

Finally, a game to make me forget about the EA Sports games.

As I did with Front Office Manager, I’ll give a review of MLB 09: The Show.

The first MLB o-whatever game I bought was riddled with errors. Batters batted backwards, no one ever made an error, home runs were popped out of the yard as if everyone was on steroids, and the graphics weren’t smooth. The next one got better, and it was followed by a better. This one is the masterpiece, the Mona Lisa, of that series. I rarely get excited, and my friends consider me very critical. But, I really can’t find much to get upset with. I will give this caveat — I’ve only had for a couple weeks and haven’t really gotten into the franchise mode, yet.

Anyway, there’s lots of good stuff:

– 40-man rosters complete with waivers
– salaries are actual
– players do go through arbitration
– amazing graphics (of course, this applies only for PS3)

Some other more important features:

– More complete create and edit-a-player features. Again, I’m a stickler for realism, and when I do franchise mode, I put in the names of prospects and adjust their characteristics. Usually, the name switch doesn’t carry over, and instead of “Tommy Hanson”, the announcers say “Jack Kerouac”. This game, however, has the names programmed in, and you can change the soundbites to their name. Also, you can completely change their face, which takes too much time to do for everyone, but when I created myself, I could get a pretty good similarity.

– Ability to choose uniforms. One of the things that always bugged me was how much the CPU liked to choose the old-time uniforms. They’re nice, but seriously, let me choose when I want them instead of having to restart the game enough times to get it to switch. This game saves me that headache.

– Very realistic gameplay. Every time, they get closer to the real thing, adding new graphics and moves. This game is a step closer.

– Did I mention awesome graphics? You can even see the grass moving as a result of the wind. It’s ridiculous. And the faces of everyone are even accurate. Geez.

– You can throw down to first after a pitch. You know Yadier Molina always picks those guys off. Well, in past games, you couldn’t do that. Now you can and to all bases. I told you I’m a stickler for details.

– More batting stances and pitching motions. This will eventually get to a point where it’s completely overdone, but for now, it works. Though while trying to figure out my player’s batting stance, it was going to take forever to figure it out, so I went with Generic #3 (slightly open).

– And, the best of all, you can get armbands on BOTH ARMS! On past games, if you were right-handed, you could only get an armband on the right arm. It bothered the living begeezus out of me. How hard is it to put arm bands on both arms? They’ve been doing it for years. This year, you can put anything on the player. Yunel Escobar has his turtleneck. Chipper has armbands on both arms. You can even have 3/4 sleeves. In other words, they’ve gone from missing simple things to going completely overboard, but I’d rather have too many choices.

It’s a great game, but because I’ve only had it for a bit there are a few things I need to check out still.

– How are the endurance measurements? The last game had people getting completely tired after 5 or 6 straight games with great stamina. You can imagine how quickly Chipper tired. Hopefully, that will get better.

– Will they make errors? This has been a problem where my entire team would win Gold Gloves. Hopefully, the more games will show more errors being made.

If you’re interested in buying a baseball game for this summer and have a PS3, go get MLB 09: The Show. Never, ever get a 2K game. I will never do it again.

2 Responses to “MLB 09: The Show”

  1. Ron Rollins Says:

    Why do I have the feeling that if you’re were stranded on a deserted island, you would be the guy to sweep the sand every morning, and shave the coconuts before serving breakfast?

  2. tHeMARksMiTh Says:

    I don’t like coconuts, but the bananas are peeled perfectly. Bruised ones are thrown out, and I must get the entire banana.

Leave a Reply

