This Day in Baseball History: March 24th, 2001

On March 24th, 2001:

Randy Johnson hits a bird.

I’m sorry. I couldn’t resist the temptation to bring this up. I mean, seriously, what are the odds? He had to throw the right pitch, at the right angle, and at the right time to hit a bird soaring it at a pretty good speed which also had to be coming in at the appropriate angle at the right time. I mean, oh my god! Plus, the video is simply hilarious.

For those who might be opposed to a little violence against animal humor, I’m sorry, but I’d love to go out in such a blaze of glory. That bird didn’t feel a thing. For what it’s worth Johnson felt horrible about it afterward even though there’s no way he could possibly have done anything about it. Still, I imagine it would have been horrible to be a part of.

For those who care about trivia, the pitch was officially a “no pitch”. Do-over! Yeah, go ahead and try.

Leave a Reply

