Rounding the Bases

There’s the David Weathers we know and can’t hold a lead.

You probably noticed that the Sunday lineup is on Saturday this week. Tomorrow, my family and I are off to Las Vegas for about a week, and I plan to get drunk, lose all my money, and wake up married to a snaggle-touthed stranger. Okay, maybe not, but I don’t plan on posting here. This is unfortunate because there have been a few more readers over the past few weeks, but all I can ask is that everyone return because I should be back next Saturday or Sunday. Anyway, on to random thoughts from the week.

– Manny got suspended. I was shocked. I am over it.

– I went to the Reds-Cardinals game last night, and every time I see Great American Ballpark, I like it a bit more. “Familiarity breeds contempt” does not apply here. It’s actually a pleasant place to go see a game. As for the game itself, it was the first game that Arroyo didn’t pitch, and instead, I had the joy of watching Johnny Cueto dismantle the Cards, just pounding the zone (67 of 98 pitches for strikes). Then, David Weathers became David Weathers and tried to cough up a five-run lead in the eighth. I have to question Baker here. He had Arthur Rhodes and a 5-run lead in the eighth to face Shane Robinson to start the inning. Then, Tyler Greene strolls to the plate, and he yanks Rhodes. I looked at my dad, and we both had puzzled looks. You have a five-run lead! Just let him pitch. Instead, Weathers coughs up Greene’s first big-league homer and two more runs. LaRussa, not to be topped, then kills a rally in the ninth by trying to get Joe Thurston to steal second while down by 2 with no outs. I have no idea why you would do that. Best part of the night? Getting a police officer to break into our car because we decided to lock the keys in the car. Nice man, and it was kind of cool to watch.

– On the positive side, David Weathers is now 19th on the career appearances list with 907, passing Cy Young. That’s about the only positive for Weathers. Look for an “Appearances” post when I get back.

– Oddest note from last night? Laynce Nix with a .317/.356/.610 line, but it is only 40 at bats.

– Pittsburgh (1-9 in last 10 games) is regressing to the mean.

– For all the talk about how bad Oakland’s pitching should be, it’s second in the MLB in ERA, but it has been the bullpen (2.67) doing the heavy-lifting.

– Todd Helton (.351/.400/.495) is trying to make a comeback.

– Alberto Callaspo (.344/.402/.542) is still hitting for Kansas City.

– NL All-Star catcher? Soto? McCann? Molina (either)? No. Jesus Flores of Washington (.314/.388/.535). Interestingly enough, the Nationals (at this point) should have two All-Star starters as Ryan Zimmerman (.339/.391/.554) is living up to his new contract. Heck, Adam Dunn (.295/.444/.582 with 8 HR and 24 RBI) might even be a decent selection. Too bad the pitching is still terrible (26th in MLB).

– Johnny Cueto (1.59 ERA) and Wandy Rodriguez (1.80) have had really nice starts as under-the-radar NL Central starters.

– Jered Weaver (2.66 ERA with 31 K and 9 BB) has been really nice for LAA, but his .230 BABIP and 86% LOB% probably means he’ll come crashing down eventually. Good thing Ervin Santana and John Lackey should be back soon.

– If not for Jason Bartlett and Marco Scutaro, the AL shortstops would be light-hitting wussies. I can’t believe I just said that. Bartlett and Scutaro?

– After a rough start, Justin Verlander has been flat-out dominant in his last three starts (23 IP, 1 ER, 13 H, 5 BB, 31 K), capped off with last night’s masterpiece.

4 Responses to “Rounding the Bases”

  1. Ron Rollins Says:

    Make sure you get Elvis to marry you.

  2. tHeMARksMiTh Says:

    My brother’s father-in-law, who’s going with us, looks like Elvis. Does that count?

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Well I guess you do not account for Weathers not giving up a run all year long. Seems to me you are more a Reds hater than fan. Weathers and Rhodes have both pitched great this year.

  4. tHeMARksMiTh Says:

    Anon,

    No, I’m not a Reds fan, but I don’t hate them. My comment towards Weathers was really just a joke. I realize that both Rhodes and Weathers have done great so far. As for my criticism of Baker putting him in the eighth, it was a criticism of Baker, not Weathers. I would have criticized him no matter who he brought in.

    If you are new to the site, first, welcome, but second, most of the captions to pictures are jokes and not really meant to be taken seriously.

Leave a Reply

